Couchsurfing Budget: Geneva

Since I took so much oddly satisfying pleasure in talking about my workaway budget, I thought I’d write up a little diddle on my couchsurfing budget.

I am currently in one of every backpackers’ nightmare countries

Dun dun dun!

Swiss flag
(source)

Switzerland is loco in the cabeza expensive! Consumer prices are 60% higher than in Lisbon!

A McMeal in Geneva is over $15 USD! In Lisbon it’s $6! Don’t tell me ‘la baguette’ is worth that much more!

WTF just checked! Apparently it’s the most expensive place in the world?!?!?!?!

"When you take into account all consumer spending including rent, transport and heating costs, Switzerland comes out as even more expensive than Norway, beating Singapore, Dubai and the US according to 2013 OECD data."
“When you take into account all consumer spending including rent, transport and heating costs, Switzerland comes out as even more expensive than Norway, beating Singapore, Dubai and the US according to 2013 OECD data.” (source)

So how the hell am I doing it?

COUCHSURFING! B*tch you guessed it! You's right
COUCHSURFING! B*tch you guessed it! You’s right

Is it obvious that was a copy and paste? *oops*

After my two somewhat bad first experiences with the site I thought I’d never go back to sleeping on a stranger’s couch.

But then I looked up hostels and was like ahhhh hell nahhhh

Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 12.47.34

I decided to try my hand again. And of course I really DO want to get closer to the local culture.

My current host did only have female reviews, but they were all positive and used key words like “gentleman” and “polite”. I looked at my bank account, sighed and decided to accept his invitation.

Speaking of reviews, just yesterday some twit wrote me whether she should meet up with my creepy Tokyo host. Apparently he even got himself another review from a girl he tried to force himself on!

Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 12.55.56

Somehow this Stacie ditz is still considering meeting up with him! At least she had the sense to message your girl so I could tell the chick

url
(source)

You’ll all be happy to know that my host

is

SUPER!
SUPER!

We’ve been having all kinds of platonic friend fun and it’s been a blast!

I’ve been really lucky with how generous he has been during these past 5 days. He’s not only offered me a brand spanking new air mattress to sleep on,

ma bed in his spotless living room
ma bed in his spotless living room

but I’ve been invited to dinners with his friends and family, rounds of drinks that I’ve guiltily never had to “pay my round” and rides on the back of his vespa all around Geneva.

just a couple of new friends having a little snack by the jet d'eau
just a couple of new friends having a little snack by the jet d’eau
sunday fondue night with his friend
sunday fondue night with his friend
taking advantage of Geneva's free bike rentals on a rare sunny day by the lake
taking advantage of Geneva’s free bike rentals on a rare sunny day by the lake

Because of all my host’s generosity and some grocery store “picnic lunches” I’ve only spent

$6 at cafes *gasp*

$7 on activities *gasp again*

$35 on groceries

that’s $48 in 5 days!!!!!!!!!!

I spent under $10 a day in Geneva and had a hell of a time!

It’s never guaranteed you’ll have a host as awesome and hospitable as mine (don’t worry I already did what I could to express my gratitude in the form of a new toothpaste for him since I saw he was running low and a pizza for dinner last night)

but if you carefully select a person to couchsurf with, look up “free things to do *insert name of city*” and make yourself those shanty little picnics you can visit THE MOST EXPENSIVE COUNTRY IN THE WORLD on a budget of $10 USD per day. 🙂

bon pique-nique!
bon pique-nique!

Leave a Reply

