Capsule Wardrobe for a Nomad

So, it shouldn’t come as any surprise that after only 3 months living in China I’m already planning my next big move.

I’ve become a bit obsessed with the idea of a ’round the world journey earning my keep by working in my host country for one month periods.

How?

Workaway, Helpx and Wwoofing.

I’m not much of a strong farm hand, so I think work in hostel/tourism …maybe animal shelters(?) would be my volunteering forte.

So although the specifics of my travel plans have yet to be ironed out, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about a different part of my trip’s mechanics:

Fashion!

lol or current lack thereof

I’ve been thinking for some time now that I need to take a more minimalist approach when it comes to my wardrobe (especially considering I move every 6 months). I currently have a large suitcase, 60l backpack and a duffel bag. I’ve been wondering if I could get it down to just *gasp* the backpack and duffel bag!

So, I’ve been thinking a lot lately on how I can change my wardrobe into a more versatile and purposeful one.

Think none of this.

img-thing

(source)

And more of this.

sweatshirt grey hm

(source)

And with these ideas stirring around in my head, I somehow discovered the awesomeness that is the “Capsule Wardrobe.”

Here’s an example from Closet Confections:

10x30

The idea behind the capsule wardrobe is simple.

Your wardrobe will be made up of mostly neutral, timeless pieces of good quality. The way you style these pieces and the accessories you use can really transform your outfit into whatever your whim.

download

(source)

Have you ever regretted a clothing donation full of the past seasons latest fads?

I haven’t.

Sure. Sometimes it feels cool to rock the latest trend, but isn’t there something in your closet made of an awesome material that you always find yourself reaching for instead of the ill-fitting Forever21 velvet romper?

Something instantly popped into your head, didn’t it?

I think back on this super comfy striped dress I practically lived in while backpacking Summer of 2013.

1146359_10151765936351084_1303744613_o

Ok so I didn’t style it too well for the Red Sea, but imagine it with different accessories/shoes and all the looks I could make. For instance:

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 15.25.44

Heck! I could throw on a jacket, tights and booties and make it a Fall look.

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 15.28.11

See where I’m going with this?

And guess what! Hair and makeup can be accessories too! Cheap or FREE accessories. Fish tail braid youtube tutorial video, I’m coming for you!

Essentially with pieces that fit well and you genuinely love, you are never out of options for cute, put together outfits.

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 15.30.37

Beautiful, isn’t it?

Shopping sales and finding well made clothing that consist of quality fabrics means an investment that actually saves you money in the long run.

Going neutral should also be a big help in the longevity of your clothing. Different colors go in and out of style, but neutrals are forever. Plus you could just accessorize with that color if you’re really dying to try it out.

Check out Lauren from Exploring My Style rock this striped tee in 5 different ways.

00

Versatility is key here. With less is more as your theme, you can wear your capsule wardrobe pieces in so many variations that it will never be boring and will actually become quite freeing.

How many times have you looked in your closet, seen a million trendy tops and bottoms all costing around $20 each and felt like you had absolutely nothing to wear?

I plan to start my capsule wardrobe up soon (Fall sales start November 11th) and I’ll try to share and document my journey into fashion minimalism.

I’ve been digging the tucked in button down look (whether it be plain white, flannel or chambray), so my “Fall Uniform” should look something like this:

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 15.52.37

or this:

images

(source)

minus the heels. Rubber heeled booties are okay, but any other heel is totally impractical for how much standing/dancing I do at work.

And so with my measly budget for clothes and the pushing restraints of my luggage limit, this attempt at capsule wardrobedom should be an interesting one.

Are you rocking your capsule now? Any tips for the poor nomad?

2 thoughts on “Capsule Wardrobe for a Nomad

Leave a Reply

